Learning to de-stress whenever she can has helped Hall manage her busy life—from playing Dawn Darcy on Showtime’s Wall Street satire Black Monday and running her own production company to raising awareness for scleroderma, an autoimmune condition that causes tissue hardening in the skin and organs and can manifest in skin tightening and joint pain. Her mother battled the disease for many years, and Hall is on the board of directors for the Scleroderma Research Foundation, alongside actors Bob Saget and Dana Delany. Besides weeding, Hall takes nature walks and gives herself permission to veg out, whether it’s with a good book or documentary, and she no longer feels guilty about taking time to recharge. We spoke with the actress about her go-to healthy lunch recipe and why raising awareness about scleroderma has been so fulfilling. What has the pandemic taught you about living well? I really learned about patience and acceptance [during the pandemic]. In the beginning, everything was so incredibly unbalanced. But all things are interdependent—our joy is connected to our health and wellbeing and that’s connected to our peace and that’s connected to who we are. But it’s also connected to the people around us. Being physically isolated, I think a lot of people realized we’re not islands and the more connectivity we can generate, the better. How has it affected your own family? The pandemic made my family even closer. When I went to Australia, many family members used FaceTime to connect. We talk on the phone all the time, but I think the idea of “Oh, well, why don’t we just look at each other?” was really nice. The pandemic was a reminder of how much I wanted my family to be OK, for them to be safe. I was very aware that we don’t know what will happen, so just making sure that your family is safe and healthy, and that you’re communicating how much you love them is always important. Can you tell us about how you were introduced to scleroderma? I learned about scleroderma when my mom had a mild case. In understanding what she had, I learned that it affects mostly women. Many people are misdiagnosed for years and there is not a lot of awareness or research funding. There isn’t a cure, but there are treatments when it’s discovered early that can make a big difference. What do you consider your best health habit? Meditating. I try to do it daily. I also sip a cup of [high protein] bone broth several times a week. I take borage oil [a nutritional supplement] when I remember. It’s really good for its linoleic acid [which some studies say lowers bad cholesterol and reduces inflammation tied to some diseases]. I do believe what you put in your body has to reflect outward. My worst habit is probably coffee ice cream, and I don’t even like coffee! I also like root beer floats. That’s like the worst combo: soda and ice cream, but it’s so good. How do you handle being overwhelmed or feelings of anxiety? I try not to look at the gigantic picture. Instead, I’ll think, “What do I have to do next?” That keeps me from getting overwhelmed. And when I get overwhelmed I’m like, “Oh, I can’t do anything.” I get too overwhelmed and it makes me do nothing. When I’m shooting, I’ll be like, “All right, let me read the script. I like it. I’ll do it.” But day to day I’m like, “Alright, this is Tuesday’s work. This is Wednesday’s work.” What’s your approach to fitness? Twenty years ago, fitness felt more fun. Now it feels more imperative. I’m like, “Sh**, I have to work out!” But it’s something that you can be completely absorbed in. I like the feeling it gives me, and I’ve really equated it with healthy living for my body. It was a lot more challenging to be healthy and fit and excited when I was in quarantine. I had to find a new way to motivate myself. If I’m in a crunch and I don’t have a lot of time, I’ll do a couple of floor exercises. I feel like if I do jump rope intervals, push-ups, sit-ups and a couple of squats and lunges, it’ll just keep everything decent. It’s a quick 20-30-minute workout. When I’m home, I have a rower and I like to row or bike, which is great cardio. What are some go-to eating habits?  My healthy meals are pretty simple. I like a lean protein, a little roasted chicken and some veggies. I love a baked yam, quinoa and veggies. I’ll tell you my favorite dish: I’ll sauté a little bit of spinach with cooked quinoa. And then I’ll add diced cucumbers, tomatoes and a bit of avocado on top. It’s so good! I’m not a gigantic breakfast eater, but I do love a nice bowl of cereal or chia pudding in the morning. If I do a cereal, I pour in some chia seeds and eat it with berries or yogurt. If I ever do something more, it’s scrambled eggs on Ezekiel toast [sprouted grain bread]. What do you hope fans take away from your new series? I’m very excited for fans to watch Nine Perfect Strangers. I play Carmel, whose husband has left her for a younger woman. She’s come to this health and wellness resort to really boost her self-esteem. I hope people love the series like they love the book. There are a lot of twists and turns. When I watched it, I had many moments of “Oh! I didn’t see that coming,” even though I read it. What’s next? Producing is the next thing on my radar that I’m excited about. There are just a lot of interesting stories I want to tell. I want to work with incredible storytellers and be able to provide work for production crews. I love the collaborative process of working with a team of writers and to watch something grow from an idea to on-screen. Next, Nicole Kidman Loves Sharks! 20 Things You Didn’t Know About the Aussie Actress

Regina Hall s Stress Less Rules to Live By And Why Pulling Weeds is So Therapeutic  - 80